I love that, even after 10 years of living in Calgary, I can still discover new favourite places and hidden gems that I’ve never visited or heard of before. A friend told me about the Botanical Gardens of Silver Springs and we recently went to explore with a picnic in hand.

IMG_20160701_122501316

There is much to see in these community gardens that are maintained by volunteers… lots of flora and fauna, picnic spots, sculptures, butterflies, rose gardens, an edible orchard and a wonderful labyrinth!

It’s amazing how the gardens are tucked in right next to the busy roads of Crowchild Trail and Silver Springs Gate, yet seem like a million miles away. A stroll through here is as good as getting out of the city, and with a fraction of the effort!

Big thanks to the dedicated volunteers who maintain the gardens. I’m looking forward to exploring and visiting this hidden gem time and again.

